God’s Love

God doesn’t love me less during seasons of unemployment. When I feel like the most productive thing I can do is go to the gym or do laundry. When my job applications are ignored and my resume is tossed out. When I want to work so badly, I place my worth on whether I have a job or not.

God doesn’t love me less when I take out my frustration and balled-up stress on my husband. During an all out breakdown on the couch, in the shower, or conveniently right before bedtime. After I completely screw up and give in to my anger, despite the opportunity God gave me to resist it earlier.

God doesn’t love me less when I forget His love for the sake of enforcing doctrine. When I scowl at fellow believers for their differing beliefs on limited atonement or baptism or the covenant. When I withhold grace or friendliness from someone unlike me. When I value man’s approval over God’s. When I cave to cowardice and selfishness and hide my light from the lost.

God doesn’t love me less when, in my pride, I delay repentance. When I forget to thank Him for providing for me. When I fail to notice His majesty and praise His name. When I am so engrossed in my little, earthly, minute, finite problems, that I lose sight of the enormous, heavenly, eternal, infinite God.

Sin grieves Him. He does not delight in suffering.

But He will never retract His love. I am sinful, and yet He chose to love me. And His love is not like my love. His love needs no reciprocation. His love depends on nothing and no one. His love is pure, powerful, enduring, and stretches farther than the east is from the west. His love covers a multitude of sins.

Oh, that I might love Him more!

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things? Who will bring a charge against God’s elect? God is the one who justifies; who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is He who died, yes, rather who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who also intercedes for us. Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? Just as it is written,

For Your sake we are being put to death all day long;
We were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:31-39

And you were dead in your trespasses and sins, in which you formerly walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, of the spirit that is now working in the sons of disobedience. Among them we too all formerly lived in the lusts of our flesh, indulging the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath,even as the rest. But God, being rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved), and raised us up with Him, and seated us with Him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the ages to come He might show the surpassing riches of His grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

Ephesians 2:1-10

Leave a Reply

