On Answers to Prayer

That moment when you want to tell God to hold His horses.

When, for the past few months, your life has been as eventful as taking I-80 through Iowa on a road trip. Or beige carpet. Or an hour on a small pond in a paddle boat.

You pray for a job. You pray for opportunities. You pray for something please, God, something to keep the gym or the dishes from being the most productive part of my day.

And, finally, He sends it. All that you asked for with pleading, crying from boredom, crying from frustration, crying from feeling completely worthless to the rest of the world — all of it is (sort of) answered in one hour.

Welcome to my Thursday.

Most of you know that I have been holding out for a technical writing job near our new town. I’m not too proud to work fast food, retail, or labor, but if I paid for a college degree, I’d like to try and get a job using it.

So I waited. And today, I had the surreal opportunity to meet with the CEO of the Youngstown Business Incubator.

Oh, thank You, Lord, it’s finally happening. 

You know how Christians pray and pray and pray for that one thing, for the one thing our finite, human brain can perceive? It could be a noble thing, it could be simple, it could be innocent and good, but it might not be what God had in mind.

Well, God’s sense of humor is most timely. Here I am writing about God answering prayer and He responds with crossroads. Crossroads leading to choices that need guidance through more prayer. Crossroads that could transform Mister’s and my lives with good and God-honoring opportunities outside of my comfort zone, or return our lives back to the good and God-honoring routine of a technical writer comfortably writing manuals (the routine for which I fervently prayed).

So it’s not really an “answer”. Rather, God is answering my prayer for a job with the opportunity to pray more specifically, more intently, with more focus on His will and timing.

Our God truly works in the most amazing, interesting, and mysterious ways!

Source: Martin Liebermann

Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.”

James 4:14-15

O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my thought from afar.
You [scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.
You have enclosed me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is too high, I cannot attain to it.

Psalm 139:1-6

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.

Romans 8:26-27

P.S.: Pray for me as I enter into this season of heavy decision-making. Pray that I will remain faithful to God’s revealed will and respectful of my husband’s desires concerning our future.

P.P.S.: I dislike being vague, but I will share the opportunity in more depth when God’s will is made known more clearly to me.

4 thoughts on “On Answers to Prayer

  1. Ok I am soooooo curious!!! Gonna corner you on Sunday and make you spill it! 🙂 or I will patiently wait til you are able to share it. Could go either way! 🙂 I’m so happy that the job wait may be over and will be praying for wisdom for both of you.

Leave a Reply

