On Prayer

Psalm 34:15
Psalm 34:15

How amazing that the God of the universe takes special care to listen to and answer every single prayer.

Even the mental, one sentence prayers. Even if the only word you think is, “Please…”, He knows His answer. Even when you don’t realize you need to pray, Jesus prays on your behalf, and the Lord answers it.

Not a single prayer is unheard, nor a single thought unnoticed.

The God who rules the galaxies we haven’t yet and may never discover; the God who knows the needs of the eagles, the sparrows, the lions, the tomcats, the butterflies, the ants; the God who provides rain for the crops of the unbelievers, who grants their wishful thinking, who blesses their marriages, their wombs, their jobs, and their children without credit; the God who orchestrates every single breath of every single creature like a symphony to Himself; the God who shows His glory and mercy by saving those whom He chose before He spoke the Earth into existence; this God, who rules and creates and cherishes and provides with complete sovereignty and control, this God listens intently to your woes, your praise, your complaints, your adoration, your confessions, your thankfulness, your needs and wants.

No matter how silly, petty, temporary, or fickle your prayers, He bends His ear and attends.

But He’s not just a hotline consultant. He doesn’t just tune in, listen, give His answer, and move along.

He knew you before you were in the womb. He thought of you before He created Earth’s mass. He intimately knows you: your personality, your sins, your inner thoughts, your secret desires. He knows your likes, your dislikes. He knows because He created you. He knows because He cares for you. He knows because He sent His Son to die for you.

So He listens when His beloved creation, His beloved you, sends up petitions. He listens and He answers. His answer might not even be the answer you’re looking for, but it’s His good answer, His just answer, His right answer, His loving answer.

And when you pull away and refuse to pray, He hears the murmurings of your heart. He perceives your apathy, your bitterness. And if you are His, if you believe in Him as Lord and Savior, He will not let you remain apathetic. He will not let you soak in your bitterness. And in every answer to your prayers, He is fashioning you in Christ’s likeness. His every reaction to your thoughts is to set you on the path of righteousness.

How amazing that the God of the universe takes special care to listen to and answer every single prayer.

Give ear to my words, O Lord,
Consider my groaning.
Heed the sound of my cry for help, my King and my God,
For to You I pray.
In the morning, O Lord, You will hear my voice;
In the morning I will order my prayer to You and eagerly watch.

Psalm 5:1-3

The Lord has heard my supplication,
The Lord receives my prayer.

Psalm 6:9

Come and hear, all who fear God,
And I will tell of what He has done for my soul.
I cried to Him with my mouth,
And He was extolled with my tongue.
If I regard wickedness in my heart,
The Lord will not hear;
But certainly God has heard;
He has given heed to the voice of my prayer.
Blessed be God,
Who has not turned away my prayer
Nor His loving-kindness from me.

Psalm 66:16-20

 “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.”

Luke 22:31-32

One thought on “On Prayer

Leave a Reply

