Jesus Prays

“‘Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.'”

Luke 22:31-32

When my besetting sin of anger rushes through my veins and I snap harsh words or cry hateful tears or clench my fists in an attempt to keep from throwing the nearest object… Jesus prays for me.

When I wonder if I’m any use at all, if I have any worth when I’m not working the occupation I love… Jesus prays for me.

When I begin to place my priorities on fitness and physical prowess on the same level as Christ… Jesus prays for me.

When my life flows by smoothly, with barely a bump, and I drop my guard against the devil’s wiles… Jesus prays for me.

When I know full well that I am sinning and am tempted to continue because I feel like indulging my sinful self… Jesus prays for me.

When I don’t feel like praying because of shame, apathy, or lack of repentance… Jesus prays for me.

When I weep and pray and throw myself at the foot of His cross again and again… Jesus prays for me.

When I struggle to trust Him and to give Him all control… Jesus prays for me.

We have a Great High Priest who not only experienced temptation and can sympathize with us in our struggles, but who never forgets a name, never fails to mention us in the Father’s ear, never fails to plead on our behalf, despite our wretchedness.

Jesus prays for us… and we know that His prayers are always heard and answered by His Father.

Christians, take comfort!

Leave a Reply

