Glorious, Powerful, Majestic God

The mist pecked my face, gentle despite the boisterous breeze that whipped my hair into a wavy, curly frenzy.

It was a beautiful day: sunny and 75 degrees F.

The poncho I was given was practically useless, the wind playfully lifting it and soaking me with thousands of droplets.

I looked up at the towering cliff, squinting in the spray as millions of gallons of water hurdled over it. The brochure said the water fell at about 65 miles an hour.

I took a deep breath of clean, moist air. I couldn’t help but grin in awe at the wondrous work of creation I had traveled a mere 3.5 hours to see.

Amid the roar and thunder of the Falls, I could hear the howls and whoops and hollers from the ferry a quarter of a mile behind us. All of us were enjoying the majestic display of God’s power, whether we believed in God or not.

Mesmerized and in tears, all I could bring to mind were song lyrics. I sang it under my breath as a praise, unaware of the fifty-some tourists bustling around me (and possibly wondering about my sanity).

God of mercy, sweet love of mine! I have surrendered to Your design. May this offering stretch across the skies; these “Hallelujah”s be multiplied!

Later, Mister and I reveled in the thought of the presence of God. If God can so move me and convince me of His power, strength, majesty, and beauty with just a waterfall, I can only imagine my response to His face when I see Him in Heaven.

Who am I that He would take notice of me?

“Behold, these are the fringes of His ways; And how faint a word we hear of Him! But His mighty thunder, who can understand?”

Job 26:14

“For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse.”

Romans 1:20

 

Leave a Reply

