The Definition of Pro-Life

I don’t usually touch on such controversial topics, but this one is burdening my heart. In fact, I have to be careful not to let my besetting sin (anger) grab a hold of me and turn me into a ranting lunatic. This topic not only burdens my heart, but it breaks my heart. If you’re looking for stats and aggressive research, you won’t find it here. There are other articles that deal with statistics. This is just my soul crying out.

There’s a quaint little phrase said by many Christians today. When asked, they’ll assure you, “Oh, yes, of course, I’m pro-life.”

If only they end there.

They quickly add, “Except, of course, in cases of rape or incest.”

“So, really,” I want to ask, “you’re just pro-choice?”

I don’t know if it’s an effort to not offend anybody in this stupidly thin-skinned society or if it’s sheer blindness towards what they’re actually saying, but it seems that more and more Christians are giving excuse to murder. Oh, yes, they claim to be all for life. They claim to be against murder of any kind. How could anyone kill a baby in the womb? How can those silly pro-choicers not see that it’s a baby in there?

And yet, they turn around and say, “Rape and incest babies aren’t real babies, though, so we can kill them.”

Oh, they wouldn’t say it in so many words. But that is what they’re saying.

Christians, you know the Ten Commandments. You know Matthew 5:21-26 where Christ clarifies that the mere angry thought against someone is murder. Christ gives no exception for murder, my friends. He doesn’t lessen the physical act of murder. He simply explains that anger is spiritual murder, acted out by your conscience, and even if you never physically harm anyone, you are guilty enough for hell.

It might be easy for you to say to your secular or more liberal friends, “Oh, yeah, I’m pro-life, except in rape and incest” and still feel like you’re standing up for something.

You’re murdering babies as you speak.

Now, you might say, “Oh, I don’t deny the fact that rape and incest babies are actual babies, but they’re born from evil.”

My responses to that:

  1. I don’t see you lining up to abort babies born out of wedlock.
  2. Rapists aren’t given the death penalty when they’re caught (which is rare).
  3. Yes, incest is nasty business. But the baby didn’t partake in it. And the baby is still a human.

Pro-life literally means “for life”. You support the value of life. You believe that what God has given, only God can take away. You believe that upon conception, a fetus is a fetus is a fetus. It’s alive. It’s a creature of the living God, made in His image.

Christians, you say you believe this! Do you really? Do you understand the condemnation you place on human lives everywhere when you give your exceptions to murder? Do you understand the weight of claiming to believe in Jesus Christ, claiming to have your will aligned with His, and then giving the nod on murder?

God is not inconsistent! There are no gray areas with God!

You claim to be a Christian. I think it’s time to think about the weightiness of your words and the One you represent.

Leave a Reply

