Five Minute Friday: Garden

Concerning cultivating love.

Go.

Gardening is hard work. I should know, because I hate it.

My granny has gardened since she was a teenager. She enjoys tilling the earth and weeding out the bad’uns and watering the little sprouts. She stands over her garden like a mother hen, observing how her little children grew overnight while spotting the almost invisible weed sprout and diving in to pluck it out.

Every spring, she comes to Pittsburgh. She tsks at my mother’s and my gardens. We don’t do so well. We aren’t natural gardeners. We don’t view our plants as things to protect. If they naturally can’t survive, is that really our problem?

Unfortunately, sometimes I’m just as stingy with my love. Cultivating a garden of love is hard. Do I cultivate a garden of love for my friends? Are my heart and my home and my attitude a safe haven for them to pour their soul and find understanding? Does my spiritual garden, earthly and weakly as it is, point its inhabitants to Christ? Do I water my spiritual garden with the word of God and prayer? Do I phileo my husband?

I suppose I should say, ultimately, do I cultivate the love God has given me and offer it to those around me?

Or do I let my spiritual garden sit unattended,Β  like I do my physical garden, withering under the elements of spiritual battle and hardening against the Lord and His people?

All gardens require careful tending. While it’s good to tend to your physical garden, leaving your spiritual garden unattended is a matter of life or death. Let your heart be the good soil upon which the seed fell. Weeds did not hamper it, rocky soil did not starch it, birds did not carry it away.

Our spiritual gardens cannot naturally survive in our hearts of sin. We must care for it like mother hens, diving at the first sign of a weed.

Done.

 

Five Minute Friday

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on my blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of my Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

– See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.GcqFlt4F.dpuf

Leave a Reply

