Here Comes the Sun

Could be considered an expansion from (or an addition to) my Thankfulness list.

My soul has been rejected from peace; I have forgotten happiness.

So I say, “My strength has perished, and so has my hope from the Lord.”

Remember my affliction and my wandering, the wormwood and bitterness.

Surely my soul remembers, and is bowed down within me.

This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope.

The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail.

They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.”

The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him.

Lamentations 3:17-25

Sometimes, in the midst of sanctifying struggles and pain, God gives a burst of hope.

Like I’ve mentioned in previous blog posts, for the past few months, I’ve been experiencing traveling joint pain. At first, I thought it was simple tendon injuries or osteoarthritis. I was running and dancing, after all. But when my arms started to seize up in pain (I looked like a T-Rex. No joke), I knew something was up.

Long story short, visits to a rheumatologist revealed that something deeper was wrong with my joints. The doctor ordered what seemed like a quart of my blood to test for Lyme, Sjogren, lupus, and rheumatoid arthritis. She’s 95% sure I have psoriatic arthritis, but she can only diagnose it by process of elimination.

During this time of uncertainty, the Lord was teaching me hard, hard lessons of trust in Him. Trust in His silence about my pain. Trust in the bleak thought that maybe I have a chronic disease. Trust that despite the fact I couldn’t sleep the night before from the pain, I could still operate as a technical writer for my company today.

I thought I had the “trusting God” thing down. Ha! What a silly assumption.

It was a dark, ominous, stormy past four months. And while I’m not being treated for the pain yet, God has given me a ray of sunshine — even if it’s just for this week.

The doctor prescribed a week’s worth of steroids.

I feel 24 again.

I can bend my knees. I can squat — and then get back up without help. I can hop out of bed. I can flop onto my bed. I can run up the stairs. I can walk normally down the stairs. I don’t need to hold onto something and grit through pain when I sit down or stand up. I can move my arms in the range of motion with which they were created.

It’s freeing.

And yes, I know it’s temporary.

But everyday this week, I’ll be thanking God for this week-long blessing. I clung to God during my time of pain. I prayed fervently for solutions. I prayed for contentment. I whimpered in frustration and cried, “How long, O Lord?” almost daily. And I knew, even though it was horribly difficult, and God felt infinitely distant, I knew God molding me.

And it’s such a sweet, sweet thing to be reminded of my heavenly Father’s attentiveness to even me, who saw my tears, who heard my frustrations, who knew my pain. I know I’ll return to the pain in just a few days, but oh how good to feel the kindness of God, even for a week.

3 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun

  1. Reblogged this on iDare to Hope and commented:
    This is a true Dare to Hope post, ‘Here Comes the Sun’. When you face life’s challenges and like Jeremiah, still have a confident hope that our faithful, most High God will make a way, this brings God great joy and glory.

    It’s with pleasure that I share this post with you and hope that it provides motivation to be like our father in the faith: “even when there was no reason for hope, Abraham kept hoping…” (Romans 4:18)

  2. Dear Mrs. Hunter,

    I do not know why I signed up to receive your blog post, but I am glad I did.

    I have recently begun to take coconut oil and it may help some of your symptoms. I am an older mama with spinal cord issues and am familiar with joint pain.

    They say it is possible to miss Lyme’s disease even with testing. Make sure that you read up on each thing they think it could be.

    Also I have found that coconut oil is good for joint pain. If your diet includes a lot of sugar, you might want to cut back on that.

    Here is a link about the benifits of coconut oil.

    http://www.be-healthy-with-coconuts.com/coconut-oil-for-arthritis.html

    Blessings, Jill

Leave a Reply

