Pecan Breaded Chicken Breasts

Guess what. I took pictures of my food today.

And that means…. it’s food post time.

I had two chicken breasts left, so I looked up this recipe for just the two of us. It was sweet. Delicious. It tasted like honey baked ham without the ham.

Just preparing the counter for the masterpiece known as dinner smelled like Christmas morning pecan rolls.

SAMSUNG

Basically, that pile of goodness is supposed to be caked onto a cooked chicken breast. So first, I had to preserve my sole accessory.

Mister would have killed me.
Mister would have killed me if I got the ring gooped up.

I then began the sticky task. Which was really great, because it smelled divine.

Ready to go!
Ready to go!

And the rest is history.

Pecan Breaded Chicken Breasts

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I used 2)
  • 2 tablespoons real maple syrup (I used fake and way more than 2 tbsp)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour (I only have wheat, and it worked just fine)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (I used olive)

On wax paper, combine pecans, flour, and salt.

Brush chicken breasts all over with maple syrup. Coat chicken breasts completely with nut mixture.

In a large skillet over medium heat, melt butter and stir in the oil. Add chicken and cook for 12 to 15 minutes until chicken is browned on all sides and tender.

As you can see, I broke the rules. I cooked the chicken before coating and browning it. I think the chicken I buy lifts weights, because the fire just can’t cook them through.

Add some mashed potatoes (also fake) and mmm.

IMG_20130903_193402

Leave a Reply

