Psalm 9:10

“And those who know Your name will put their trust in You,
For You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You.”

Psalm 9:10

God answers prayer. He answers prayer in different ways:

  • He says, “No.”
  • He says, “Not yet.”
  • He says, “Yes!”

When God answers “no” to one of our requests, He waits for us to accept His will and then offers an alternative (often better in the long run). And we all know the disheartening silence of “not yet” — what is God’s will? Why won’t He answer? Does He even hear me? I rank highest among doubting believers during the lesson of patience and trust in the “not yet”s.

And sometimes, God answers with an immediate, encouraging “yes”!

I experienced that today. God moves in wonderful ways.

As I closed my Trusting God, Even When Life Hurts devotional last night, I prayed for faithfulness in one of my weekly promises:

“Ask God for the opportunity to share something about His trustworthiness with an unbeliever. Watch for the opportunity and take advantage of it.”

I am a coward, honestly, so I eagerly hoped for the Lord to work in me for this task.

And oh, He did. Less than 24 hours later.

A friend of mine is pregnant. Joyous time! And yet, they discovered her blood count was lower than normal. They hope it’s only the pregnancy, but her blood type might cause complications. She goes to a hematologist today. And she is dreading it.

She knows the facts of God’s sovereignty, but admitted her faith is shaken knowing that God is capable of twisting her life with a blood disorder or taking the life of a friend’s daughter with a sudden tumor.

Prayer #1: Lord, please give me the opportunity to speak of your grace, mercy, and sovereignty over all events.

Status: Answered.

You know that feeling when you’re talking about God and realize you seem to have no control of what you’re saying, but you can’t stop praising Him? And you know you sound crazy to this person, because they probably don’t feel the same passion, but you keep talking until whatever point you are trying to make is blurted out and packaged neatly in a surprisingly well-delivered speech?

And then you take a breath and think, “That was God.”

That happened. My friend got an earful of the glory and majesty of God, of His incomprehensible wisdom, of our limited human understanding compared to His all encompassing understanding. Of His love for His people and how even through sometimes excruciating, writhing emotional, spiritual, and physical anguish, His mercy is shown most evident.

Prayer #2: Lord, give me the courage to speak!

Status: Answered.

I’m not sure what she thought about it. She’s still talking to me, so that’s a good sign!

I will continue to pray for increasing opportunities and courage — pray along with me?

Leave a Reply

