Something greater

“When the crowds were increasing, he began to say, ‘This generation is an evil generation. It seeks for a sign, but no sign will be given to it except the sign of Jonah. For as Jonah became a sign to the people of Nineveh, so will the Son of Man be to this generation.

The queen of the South will rise up at the judgment with the men of this generation and condemn them, for she came from the ends of the earth to hear the wisdom of Solomon, and behold, something greater than Solomon is here.

The men of Nineveh will rise up at the judgment with this generation and condemn it, for they repented at the preaching of Jonah, and behold, something greater than Jonah is here.'”

Luke 11:29-32

Previously, when I read this passage, I instantly thought, “Too many ‘preachers’ nowadays are timid liars.”

They defy the true Gospel of the Bible by telling people they can get to heaven by means other than the sufferings of Christ, other than bearing His cross. Some (most of you can even name a few) boast behind glistening teeth and gelled hair about how rich Jesus made them, simply because one day, they decided to think positively. Their faces shimmer on the TV screens in their mega mega churches, their voices lilt to the tune of a car sales pitch. They want to sell you their gospel, and often for a pretty penny.

Still others claim that people can continue living in their dreadful, God-hating, self-loving sins because, well, they made the decision for Christ to be their Savior. The loop hole? They haven’t made Christ their Lord, yet. Despite what the Bible clearly says over and over again about Christ being Lord, these preachers smile and avert their eyes as their youth group kids start becoming sexually entangled and begin making fart jokes instead of eagerly learning the word of God. They’re just kids. They might as well get it out of their system before they decide to make Jesus their Lord!

These men, and many of their “followers”, know the true gospel. They’ve read it, they’ve heard of it, they learned it from some church in the seventies or eighties. But they reject it when the pressure is on, they melt under the heat lamps, they crumble in the earth quakes. This generation has no excuse. They know the truth, but they either reject it or they hide it — either outright lying about it or pretending it doesn’t exist in order to avoid conflict.

And if you think this only applies to non-believers, well, Christian, you might as well stop here if you don’t want your feathers ruffled.

It applies to me.

I read this passage last night during my devotions and felt convicted. At first I was a little confused. Why would I feel guilty about this? Christ has removed my guilt, He has saved me with His blood, I’m the one who should be witnessing to this evil generation………and there it was.

I’m a coward.

Sure, I’m bold in my blog. I’m eloquent on paper. But get me in a kitchen full of coworkers heating up their lunches and somehow talking about abortion and I’m a bumbling, thick-tongued baboon. I pull an uncomfortable, genuinely pained face, as they slander my Lord, as they condemn innocent babes to death, as they tout their good deeds and figure they must be alright.

And I thought to myself, “Nineveh would stand at the judgment day and condemn me for my unbelief.”

I am ashamed. Lord, help my unbelief.

Leave a Reply

