Five Minute Friday: Lonely

Click the button below my text to join the fun!

Lonely

I am an introvert.

While I enjoy fellowship with friends and family, I enjoy being alone. Sometimes, actually, I get annoyed with people if they try to talk to me in my introverted mood. I scowl inwardly if they ask me to do them a favor that requires more time than I had planned out. I hover by the wall, peacefully observing my Church brothers and sisters talk about their week. I’m happy this way. I don’t mind being alone and quiet.

Some might interpret this as loneliness. Why doesn’t she talk to people? Is she scared? Does she have any friends?

I’m alone, but I am not lonely.

The Spirit indwells my soul, filling me with His graces. My quiet, still demeanor reflects a quiet, still heart.

Sometimes I am scared to be quiet. I feel it is my Christian duty to be an extrovert. And while fellowship and communication and love through conversations is definitely important and something I take part in, it is also good to be alone.

Because sometimes, God teaches us His glory, His grace, His majesty, His sovereignty within a few minutes of stillness. Of quiet. Of alone time with Him.

So I am alone, but never lonely.

 

 

….and time’s up. Try it here:
Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lonely

  1. There is so much value in being alone, I treasure it, too (I think most who are drawn to writing would say the same).
    You’re in good company after all – just think of all the great thinkers of history who needed that time alone to reflect and work out their ideas.

  2. This is well said, and I totally know how you feel. It’s hard to be quiet in church and not feel that others expect something else of you. There is great beauty in what you’ve presented here, which is that God uses introverts too. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

  3. You are very right. There is such a big difference in being alone and lonely. Alone time with God should be valued and set aside in order to prepare and strengthen yourself to face your day to day. Thank you for bringing a new perspective…

  4. This describes me perfectly! Introverted pastor’s wife, which means I often have to come out of my shell when I don’t feel like it. I LOVE quiet time! πŸ™‚ Visiting from FMF. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

