8.1 down, 5 to go.

Yes, I somehow finished my practice race. It was a beautiful day: sunny, warm, with little breeze… I averaged about 10:30 a mile. Should’ve been better, but hey, I was sick. So. That’s my excuse.

I looked down to make sure I didn't trip over the mat.......... because that would happen.
I looked down to make sure I didn’t trip over the mat………. because that would happen.

Things I learned:

  1. Running 2-3 miles two weeks before the race day does not prepare.
  2. Running sick is no good.
  3. Running partners make all the difference.
  4. Running music is a necessity if you don’t have a partner.
  5. If I don’t start taking glucosamine more regularly, I won’t have joints in 10 years.

Other than that, the run was great. And of course, the best part of the race was seeing my husband at the 7 mile mark.

I’m so glad it’s over. Now I just have to tack 5 more miles onto that before April 20th. Oh boy.

Leave a Reply

