Luke 10:13-24

Still with Search the Scriptures, don’t worry. The great part about this study is how it takes the reader from the beginning, from creation, to the New Testament, when Christ entered the world and fulfilled the prophecies, ringing in the new covenant. These are all big, Christian-jargon words, and I’m sorry. But there is no truer way to say it without watering down the gospel.

Anyway, I read Luke 10:13-24. The book brought verses 21 and 22 to my attention.

At that very time, He [Jesus] rejoiced greatly in the Holy Spirit, and said, “I praise You, O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that You have hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have revealed them to infants. Yes, Father, for this way was well-pleasing in Your sight. All things have been handed over to Me by My Father, and no one knows who the Son is except the Father, and who the Father is except the Son, and anyone to whom the Son wills to reveal Him.”

One of the questions they asked:

What does this prayer teach us of the Father’s method of working?

My response: 1 Corinthians 1:18-25. As usual, I suggest reading all 6 verses when you have time, but I’ll share the main “thrust” verses.

“For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not come to know God, God was well-pleased through the foolishness of the message preached to save those who believe…. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” vs. 21 and 25.

This question serves as a good reminder for me. The wiser I think I am, the sooner I need to start thinking and praying about where I’m sinning in my life. I am not saying that only stupid people can be Christians, or that expanding your intelligence and your understanding and your mind through learning is wrong. Absolutely not.

God made us to be discerning and learning creatures. But the minute I start thinking about how wise and smart I am about God and His Word, I am actually drifting further from Him!

We can never understand everything that God puts forth in His word, no matter how many times we read it and analyze it! God is constantly revealing more and more of Himself to me, and it’s always clearest when I don’t feel smart, or don’t feel on top of the “good Christian” totem pole. It’s when I feel foolish, humbled, uncool, stupid. That’s when I am most teachable… That is when I am the softest clay.

So don’t become hardened and “wise” towards the things of God!

Leave a Reply

